Warhawk Doubles Teams Finish Strong at Hinds-Kellogg
Bookmark and Share
The UW-Whitewater women's tennis team finished competition in the Hinds-Kellogg Classic hosted by Western Illinois University in Macomb, Illinois with doubles play Saturday. The Warhawks took second in the first and second doubles flights and placed first in the third flight of competition.


Kalla Schaefer (Madison/Madison Memorial) and Alexandra Bayliss (Sheboygan/North) teamed up in #1 doubles to win two matches, 8-1 and 8-6 respectively, before falling in the championship match to the team from Division II Olivet-Nazarene 8-4. The loss is just the third for the UW-W teammates this season as they move to 13-3 overall.

Annie Smith (Algonquin, IL/H.D. Jacobs) and Sydney Divelbiss (Middleton/Middleton) paired up for the second flight of doubles. After topping the first to opponents 8-2 and 8-1, the Warhawks lost a very close match, 9-8(3), to the team from Division I South Dakota State University. Smith and Divelbiss are now 10-2 in 2011.

Whitewater's flight three doubles team consisted of Lauren Aguilar (Gurnee, IL/Carmel Catholic ) and Megan Kasten (Verona/Verona) who took the championship winning three matches including the title match over fellow Warhawks Jackie Vitale (Roselle, IL/Lake Park) and Abby Day (Hartford/Hartford). Aguilar and Kasten are unbeaten this season at 9-0.

The Warhawks were the sole DIII team competing in the Hinds-Kellogg Classic, which also included two DI teams, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University, three Division II teams including University of Missouri-St. Louis, Olivet-Nazarene University and Truman State University, and the lone NAIA competitor, Roosevelt University.

UW-W will travel to UW-La Crosse for a dual match Friday, October 14 beginning at 1 p.m.

Friday Recap
Five UW-Whitewater women's tennis players took first place in the singles competition at the Hinds-Kellogg Classic hosted by Western Illinois University in Macomb, Illinois Friday. The doubles competition will be held Saturday, October 8 beginning at 9 a.m.


Singles (record at tournament)
#1 Kalla Schaefer (Madison/Madison Memorial) (2-1) Second Place
#2 Annie Smith (Algonquin, IL/H.D. Jacobs) (2-1) Second Place
#3 Sydney Divelbiss (Middleton/Middleton) (3-0) First Place
#4 Alexandra Bayliss (Sheboygan/North) (3-0) First Place
#5 Megan Kasten (Verona/Verona) (3-0) First Place
#6 Lauren Aguilar (Gurnee, IL/Carmel Catholic ) (3-0) First Place
#7 Jackie Vitale (Roselle, IL/Lake Park) (3-0) First Place

Divelbiss, Bayliss, Kasten and Aguilar remain unbeaten in their respective flights of competition with Divelbiss recording her 16th win of 2011 to lead Whitewater. Schaefer recorded her first loss of the season in the title match against Division I Olivet-Nazarene's Aurelie Hascoet, to move to 15-1 overall. Smith's loss also came at the hands of a Division I opponent from Olivet-Nazarene, Aziza Butoyi, the number one seed in No. 2 singles in the tournament.

Doubles results will be posted when available Saturday.

For additional information: UW-W tennis coordinator Frank Barnes
Print Friendly Version